Serie A – Italian football

The Serie A (Lega Calcio Series A TIM) is the highest division in Italian professional football.

Serie A

To date, a record number of 28 times a club from Serie A has reached the final of the UEFA Champions League (the highest trophy in European international club football). Twelve times, the Italian side was victorious. According to the UEFA’s league coefficient, the Serie A is ranked fourth behind La Liga, Premier League, and the Bundesliga. This ranking is based on the performance of Italian clubs in the Champions League and the Europa League.

The Italian trophy

The winner of the national competition is allowed to play with a scudetto (shield) with the Italian flag on their shirt in the next season. Some clubs have also started to add a gold star to their logo per dozen championships, as is a practice that is commonly seen in other leagues in Europe as well. As such, AC Milan and Internazionale both have 1 star for 18 scudetti (shields) and Juventus has 3 stars for 33 shields.

There are always lessons to be found in the darkest moments. It’s a moral obligation to dig deep and find that little glimmer of hope or pearl of wisdomAndrea Pirlo (Italian footballer)
TeamHome cityStadiumCapacity2016–17 season
AtalantaBergamoStadio Atleti Azzurri d'Italia26,5424th in Serie A
BeneventoBeneventoStadio Ciro Vigorito12,847Serie B Play-off Winners
BolognaBolognaStadio Renato Dall'Ara38,27915th in Serie A
CagliariCagliariStadio Sant'Elia16,23311th in Serie A
ChievoVeronaStadio Marc'Antonio Bentegodi38,40214th in Serie A
CrotoneCrotoneStadio Ezio Scida16,54717th in Serie A
FiorentinaFlorenceStadio Artemio Franchi47,2828th in Serie A
GenoaGenoaStadio Luigi Ferraris36,68516th in Serie A
Hellas VeronaVeronaStadio Marc'Antonio Bentegodi38,402Serie B Runners-up
InternazionaleMilanSan Siro80,0187th in Serie A
JuventusTurinAllianz Stadium41,507Serie A Champions
LazioRomeStadio Olimpico70,6345th in Serie A
MilanMilanSan Siro80,0186th in Serie A
NapoliNaplesStadio San Paolo60,2403rd in Serie A
RomaRomeStadio Olimpico70,6342nd in Serie A
SampdoriaGenoaStadio Luigi Ferraris36,68510th in Serie A
SassuoloSassuoloMapei Stadium – Città del Tricolore23,71712th in Serie A
SPALFerraraPaolo Mazza13,135Serie B Champions
TorinoTurinStadio Olimpico Grande Torino27,9949th in Serie A
UdineseUdineStadio Friuli-Dacia Arena25,14413th in Serie A

Eternal ranking

3AC Milan285613748426404670293317374926
4AS Roma28731200864809417832379414464
5ACF Fiorentina26961075820801375330946594000
6SSC Napoli2419950760709321827654533610
7Lazio Roma2559957758844350731813263596
8Torino FC2488923804761333429054293572
9Bologna FC2405864752789314429062383336
12Genoa CFC176055752867521972459-2622199
13Udinese Calcio155450845659019742183-2091971
14Cagliari Calcio128237942447914141606-1921561
15Parma Calcio 191385932825227911231053701229
16US Palermo105031328944811681558-3901228
17Vicenza Calcio101230430440410421299-2571216
18FC Bari 1908104427229148110161570-5541107
19Unione Triestina90026127536410271312-2851058
20Hellas Verona8942332993629201209-289998
21Brescia Calcio7622002243387931077-284824
22AS Livorno6601851802957601078-318735
23Chievo Verona586180168238623750-127708
24Calcio Padova560182130248710899-189676
25Calcio Catania602162181259617862-245667

Notable records

Most championships won

  • 33, Juventus

Most championships won in a row

  • 6, Juventus (season 2011-12 to 2016-17)
  • 5, Juventus (season 1930-31 to 1934-35)
  • 5, Torino (season 1942-1943, and 1945-1946 to 1948-49)
  • 5, Internazionale (season 2005-06 to 2009-10)

Most seasons in Serie A

  • 86, Internazionale

Most seasons in Serie B

  • 60, Brescia

Most consecutive victories

  • 17, Internazionale, 2006-07
  • 15, Juventus, 2015-16
  • 13, Napoli, 2016-17 to 2017-18
  • 5, Internazionale (season 2005-06 to 2009-10)

Most consecutive home victories

  • 33, Juventus, 2015-16 to 2016-17

Longest win streak from the start of a Series A season

  • 10, Roma, 2013-14

Longest win streak without conceding since the start of a Series A season

  • • 5, Juventus, 2014-15

Most wins in season

  • • 33, Juventus, 2013-14 (out of 38 matches total)
  • • 30, Internazionale, 2006-07 (out of 38 matches total)
  • • 29, Juventus, 2015-16, 2016-17 (out of 38 matches total)
  • • 29, Torino, 1947-48 (out of 40 matches total)